Saturday is a special day….

What's up with this weather?
What’s up with this weather?
We volunteer at a kitchen every Tuesday, and they had their big St Patty's dinner, and made us wear some festive hats.
We volunteer at a kitchen every Tuesday, and they had their big St Patty’s dinner, and made us wear some festive hats.
You know you're accepted into the ward when you receive children's artwork. She said she drew me, but didn't know how to spell my name so she spelled hers instead. Too cute :P
You know you’re accepted into the ward when you receive children’s artwork. She said she drew me, but didn’t know how to spell my name so she spelled hers instead. Too cute πŸ˜›

I love primary songs. They’re the best. “Saturday is a Special Day” has been running through my head this week. Even though in missionary life it’s more like “Monday is a Special Day, it’s the day we get ready for the rest of the week….” Mission life is go go go. Which is okay, because that’s how my life is normally anyways. πŸ˜›

Elder Bednar is coming in FIVE DAYS. All the missionaries in the Toronto mission are meeting in Brampton for a three hour meeting with Elder Bednar. AND THEN the next day, he’s coming to the Oshawa Stake Centre for Stake Conference! Well hey, Oshawa just so happens to be my stake! So we get two whole days of Elder Bednar!! So stoked! Our mission president, President Scott, has really emphasized preparing ourselves spiritually for this event. He encouraged us to deep clean our apartments this week, which he didn’t say was specifically in preparation for Elder Bednar, but I think it was. The spirit is definitely a lot stronger in a clean, decluttered environment. I’ve been so pumped all week to do our deep clean today. πŸ˜› Sister Hoki thinks I’m such a weirdo. But it was great! Our apartment has been a missionary apartment for yeeeaarrs so there was tons of junk sitting around that needed to be sorted through. Our apartment wasn’t filthy, just cluttered. But not any more!

We were given three talks to study by Elder Bednar to help us prepare for our meeting. One of them is “Seek Learning By Faith” which is a great talk, obviously. He talks a lot about how teachers learnΒ Β Β  through his/her teaching experiences/preparation. So true! Which is why I think it’s so significant that members of our congregation are the ones who speak in sacrament meeting, and teach various classes. I’ve definitely learned a ton while teaching our investigators.

The whole process of preparing for this special meeting made me think, how often are we prepared for our church meetings on Sunday? We only get as much out of our meetings as we put in. Saturday is a special day because if we use our Saturdays effectively, Sundays should be a peaceful, relaxing, and spiritual day. You get so much more out of the lessons when you actually come prepared for them by reading through the manual beforehand. It’s like when we meet with our investigators, and we can’t teach them the next lesson because they haven’t done their reading assignment. So. Frustrating. The lesson wouldn’t mean as much because they weren’t prepared. Partaking of the sacrament is when we renew our baptismal covenants. That’s pretty significant. So, we need to make sure that we’re prepared for Sunday and to partake of the sacrament.Β  Listen to some hymns, read a couple scriptures, do whatever you need to do. We need to make sure that we’re prepared to learn from the Spirit during our church meetings, because it’s such a wonderful opportunity to learn and draw closer to our Saviour. Church is awesome!

Question for everyone… why was “Come Thou Fount” removed form the hymn book? Every missionary goes bananas when they hear it, but no one has been able to tell me why it’s not in the hymn book anymore.Β Β  http://youtu.be/g3w9nvXuVnk

Our investigators are doing well. One of our investigators previously was passed off to the Whitby elders, but she’s back in Bowmanville now! Yay! She said that she wasn’t too happy to leave Whitby because she’ll get less treatment in Bowmanville (she’s the one in the hospital), but she was happy because she knew she’d be back in our area. πŸ™‚ She’s awesome. And Irish. It just so happens to be St Patrick’s

day, so of course we’re going to go visit her. πŸ™‚

The first few days of this week were FREEZING. This bi-polar weather makes me feel like I’m back in Alberta already. Canada and I are not friends right now. I’m moving somewhere where there’s no snow ever. πŸ™‚

Everyone in Bowmanville has at least 2 dogs each. I’ve learned that I’m definitely not a dog person…

One lady in our ward asked if either one of us were allergic to dogs, which we’re not. She then asked if we liked big dogs, to which I said “not particularly” because I don’t. I really, really, don’t enjoy dogs. πŸ˜› But all I said was “not particularly” and then she got all flustered and worried that I’d be uncomfortable in her home, but I tried to reassure her and say that I’d be okay and that it really doesn’t matter, buuuut she was so offended that she whited out her name on the dinner calendar. Oops πŸ˜›

Well, cleaning took up most of our P-day so I didn’t have much time to write today. But I hope you’re all doing well and getting pumped for General Conference!

Love,
Sister Davidson

While cleaning out our apartment we found tons of Book of Mormons in different languages
While cleaning out our apartment we found tons of Book of Mormons in different languages
One thought on “Saturday is a special day….

  1. I love her emails! Love how they are song titles. Loved the thoughts about preparing for the sabbath! Keep up the awesome work sister Davidson!

Leave a Reply

