Meine Leiblingsfreizeitaktivitat ist Tracting!

It’s funny how often I think to myself by the time Sunday rolls around, “Is it really Sunday already?!” And yet, the exchanges that took place on Tuesday feels like ages ago…. Time is weird.

First of all, Happy Birthday to the lovely Stephanie Wahl! Also, Happy early birthday to Grandma Woolf =)

Last week, I decided that I was going to be the best door-knocker there ever was. If you’ll remember, the first week of my mission we went out tracting and I haaaaaated it. A lot. But, tracting is just a part of being a missionary, so I decided that I’d better start liking it or it was gonna be a real long 18 months. I remember a story about a guy who hated washing dishes. Obviously washing the dishes are a necessary evil, so this guy decided that whenever he went to wash the dishes he would tell himself “I love washing the dishes.” And eventually, he ended up actually enjoying the task. I decided to take the same approach and trick myself into enjoying tracting. When I studied German in University before I left, we learned this long and rediculous word which I don’t know if I’m spelling right: Lieblingsfreizeitaktivitat. I think there’s dots above the last a. Anyways, it basically translates to “favourite free time activity.” So whenever we’d get a door slammed in our face, or find someone else who wasn’t interested, I’d just keep swimming and say to myself, “Meine Lieblingsfreizeitaktivitat ist Tracting!” Thus the cartoon. : P I can’t honestly say that I enjoy tracting yet, but I certainly dislike it less. πŸ™‚ So whenever you’re faced with a task that you don’t particularly enjoy doing, just smile and tell yourself you love it! It makes life a lot easier.​ It’s all about your frame of mind.

So on Tuesday I went to Oshawa to go on exchanges with Sister Zerkle. She’s from Nevada. Anyways, I didn’t tell Sister Zerkle about my battle with tracting, but we ended up tracting pretty well all day. In the pouring rain. But, it was my favourite free time activity, so I was going to enjoy it gosh dang it! So we decided to see how many apartment doors we could knock on before we got kicked out. : P We didn’t end up getting kicked out, but that would’ve made for a pretty good story… We actually got inside to teach a couple of lessons. Faith precedes the miracle. We had a lot of fun on exchanges and I learned a ton of new techniques for how to make contacting and finding new investigators more effective. It was also the first time I’ve been out of my area, so it was cool to see how different areas of the mission do things. I love exchanges πŸ™‚

Everyone should go watch “Joseph Smith in Upper Canada” because that’s my mission πŸ™‚ Minus Quebec, but they mostly talk about Ontario in it anyways. They also show the Brampton temple and how there’s all this empty land beside it. It’s definitely not empty any more! I also learned that John Taylor was Canadian. New favourite prophet πŸ˜‰

Zone Training was awesome this week too. Sister Hoki & I are the only companionship that stayed together this transfer, so it’s almost like a whole new zone. I like all these meetings we get to have. I always learn so much! But the day before Zone Conference, they asked me if I could accompany a musical number. Accompanying is probably the most stressful thing ever. Especially when it’s a song you’ve never heard before, and you get 15 minutes to practice it the day of the performance!!!! But I think it actually went pretty well. πŸ™‚

Quote of the week comes from President Gordon B Hinkley: “It is not a sacrifice to live the gospel of Jesus Christ. It is never a sacrifice when you get back more than you give. It is an investment… a greater investment than any… its dividends are eternal and ever lasting.” So true! A lot of people get hung up on the “rules” or standards we live by, but it’s not a sacrifice when you truly know why you’re doing it. The blessings and comfort we receive in return are countless, and well worth it. Again, it’s all about your frame of mind. Of course I didn’t bring my Bible to the library today, so I don’t remember the reference off hand, but at one point, Jesus scolds the Pharisees for outwardly keeping the commandments just to show off to everyone else how “righteous” they are. That scenario happens all over the place in the Bible and the Book of Mormon, but I really wish I had my specific example!!! I was just reading about it yesterday… I’ll find it and tell you next week. It’s where he’s scolding them for making their faces look really pale and stuff when they’re fasting so that everyone else would know that they’re fasting. My stellar companion tells me that it’s Matthew 6:16 πŸ™‚ The point is, we keep the commandments and pray in private and fast in private to show the Lord our willingness to follow him, and our devotion to and trust in Him. Keeping the commandments is not a sacrifice, it’s a blessing! I am so bad for complaining all the time. Definitely something I’m working on! β€œWhen obedience ceases to be an irritant and becomes our quest, in that moment God will endow us with power.” – Ezra Taft Benson

A member took us out for Sushi earlier today and I think I ate my body weight in tempura and Avocado rolls. I blame Emma & Shane for getting me hooked on tempura. A member is taking us out to a Chinese buffet for dinner tonight too. Sister Hoki may have to roll me home…

Again, I just want to thank everyone who has taken the time to write me a letter! Snail mail is seriously my favourite thing, and it’s always so exciting at Zone meetings when the mail gets distributed. πŸ™‚ Your replies are on the way!

Love you all! Keep smiling!
Sister Davidson

Meine Leiblingsfreizeitaktivitat ist Tracting!
Meine Leiblingsfreizeitaktivitat ist Tracting!
Leave a Reply

