Best birthday present ever!

Well, I’m 20 now. I think I felt 20 the day I got into the mission field. My 19th birthday feels like ages ago πŸ˜›

Oh man so much has happened in this week! North York is amazing! We found 14 new people to teach in this week. Looking through the previous missionaries’ records over the past two years, they found about 1-4 investigators per week.I don’t even know how that’s possible because we talk to a zillion people every day and usually someone will agree to meet with you again. The miracles of white washing! You have zero expectations to get in the way of your proselyting.
NorthYork 018
​
Teaching English is still my favourite thing ever. And it’s still very frustrating for me that I can only speak English when everyone here (including the other missionaries) can speak a minimum of two languages. Maybe God just knows I’m determined enough to learn a language after my mission regardless. Who knows. Anyways, we found more cool copies of the Book of Mormon in different languages in our appartment:

NorthYork 020
​From left to right, we have Hindu, Hungarian, Spanish, Romanian, Tagalog, Serbian, Russian, Samoan, Arabic, and Italian.

We have this super solid investigator that the previous sisters taught who is preparing to be baptized on the 29th! The only thing is her husband isn’t super supportive… so we’re working with her this week to help her prepare to tell her husband. We’ll be fasting and praying super hard this week for her.

Going out teaching with RMs (returned missionaries) is the best. One sister in our ward just got back from her mission in the Phillippines a couple weeks ago, and she was super eager to come out teaching with us. We found 2 new investigators with her on the street.

This week, our Zone had a goal to find 60 new investigators as a zone. We found 76, which is just 2 short of exceeding the record high in the zone.

I’ve had some interesting bus contacts this week. One guy told me that I must be rich, because I had a “rich face.” Then he told me I was “rich in spirit.” This contact was actually kind of cool, because the bus was mostly empty and I was sitting at the back of the bus by myself while Sister Griffin was talking to the people in the. This guy gets on the bus, and comes and sits right beside me when there were a ton of open seats where he could’ve sat by himself. We had a really good conversation about Jesus Christ and the importance of coming to church. … Reading over this, I made it sound like he was a really creepy guy trying to rob me hahaha. It wasn’t like that at all. It was cool to see how the Holy Ghost influences other people in little ways, even if it’s just to sit beside someone with a rich face on the bus.

Another guy from India (also on a bus) thought I was trying to diminish his faith and got all offended so I just invited him to check out mormon.org and left it at that. But a few seconds later, he whips out this flower from his bag and gives it to me. “It’s from God,” he says. “Because God made everything.” Then we had a good conversation about God and his influence. This happened on my Birthday too, so I got a flower on my birthday πŸ˜›

So, I have the best companion ever. On June 15th, I woke up to an appartment decorated with birthday banners and cute notes and hearts plastered all over my desk. She woke up in the middle of the night so she could surprise me, and then she made me pancakes for breakfast!
NorthYork 024
​

 

 

 

 

 

 

And what would a birthday be without cakepops?
NorthYork 037>
​But here is the best birthday present of all: On saturday night we went to go visit a family we had previously met on the street. We taught the single mom and her five kids about the Book of Mormon, and they all wanted to come to church the next day! They live super close to us and the church, so we told them to wait by the appartment building doors by 9:30 sharp so they could let us in. We were there a little early, and so were they, patiently waiting at 9:25. Then we walked over to church with all six of them. The oldest child is 12, and the youngest is 6, so sacrament meeting got a little challenging at the end πŸ˜› But the oldest really enjoyed young women’s, and the mom seemed to enjoy the other meetings too. Not sure what the kids thought of primary, but we’ll find out tomorrow. So basically, best birthday present ever!

And since we had 4 investogators at church, 6 member present lessons, 14 new investigators, and 3 progressing investigators, and 4 with baptismal dates, we hit standards! For the first time in my mission, we hit standards. And for president scott’s last week, too. Best birthday present ever. πŸ™‚

Elder Macmillian, our district leader, made sure everyone knew it was my birthday haha. Our ward is the best πŸ™‚

 

 

 

On a very unrealted note, we found this sweet pink fluffy onesie in our appartment with “Canada Toronto West” on the bum. The Toronto mission used to be split into east and west. Our appartment has been a missionary appartment for over 20 years, so I guess people leave behind cool things like this sometimes πŸ˜›
NorthYork 023 NorthYork 021

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a picture of the view from our balcony. Morning traffic on the 401 is the worst. Good thing we don’t drive πŸ™‚
If we were facing the other direction, you’d be able to see the CN tower in the distance.

NorthYork 028

 

 

 

 

 

 

And lastly, a picture of me and my lovely companion, Sister Griffin.

Us and Cake Pops

The provincial election just ended here in Ontario (thank goodness) so my thought for this week is this article from the Feruary 2014 Ensign https://www.lds.org/ensign/2014/02/get-informed-get-involved?lang=eng . It is a commandment to obey and honour the law, and Preach My Gospel says that, “Members of the Church are counseled to be good citizens, to participate in civil government and the political process, and to render community service.” Sooo that means that you’ve gotta vote! Be aware of what’s going on in your community–whether it be municipal, provincial, or federal– so that you can make an informed decision when you vote. PMG also says that “we do so, however, as concerned citizens, not as representatives of the Church.” I absolutely love that our church encourages political particpation and I also absolutely love that our church has zero political affiliation or government funding whatsoever. God runs His church, not men.

It says very specifically in our little missionary white handbook that we are not to talk about economics or political subjects as missionaries…. the two subjects that I’m studying in school. So this is my little way around it πŸ™‚

I love you all! Thank you so very much for the birthday wishes πŸ™‚ It means a lot. I really couldn’t have asked for a better birthday here in North York.

Love,
Sister 20-Year-Old Davidson

2 thoughts on “Best birthday present ever!

  1. I wanted to write you so bad yesterday, I wasn’t home long enough to pull it off, but I did get to spend some time with your family at Madison’s baptism, there was tons of pictures with you and her and with the family. I wasn’t there for your words, but you were quoted by your Grandma Wolf. I thought it was so cool that you could contribute to your sister’s baptism. She looked so adorable, and was excited.
    We were spending time with your partner in crime at her new place in Calgary. You two have shared birthday celebrations so long, that it feels different now that you are having your own adventures. As you know, she catches up to you in age in Friday. Hard to believe you are both entering a new decade.

    I’m excited to hear of your new mission accomplishments, they remind me of all the bus contacts and street contacts we had in Korea, it’s such a fun way to do missionary work, I’m glad you are having so much success. You will do well wherever you go.
    Happy Belated Birthday Sister Davidson, may your days and months ahead bring you joy and happiness.

    Rose Le May

  2. Happy Birthday! I’m so glad to hear of so many of the people out there are receptive to the gospel message. It’s a good reminder of what can happen anywhere if we work hard, even in our branch at Siksika Nation. Thank you for all you are doing and for sharing.

Leave a Reply

