Overcoming the natural woman

Howdy! How did inviting someone to do family history work go this week?? Did ya do it? Cause I did! They said no… but hey you never know πŸ™‚ Tell me about the experiences you’ve had with family history! I’d love to hear them!

I’ve been reading through the last conference ensign this week and noticed that there’s a definite theme of the importance of family history work throughout. So I’d like to invite all of you to read through all the talks in last conference before October! You get different things out of it every time. Kinda like when you watch Harry Potter for a second time…

“For the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be, forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit, and putteth off the natural man and becometh a saint through the atonement of Christ the Lord, and becometh as a child, submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon him, even as a child doth submit to his father.” – Mosiah 3:19

I really enjoy running. However, I really do not enjoy running at 6:30am, during our exercise time. However, Sister Lundin does not mind running at 6:30am so we set a goal to go out jogging 4 times this week. And we did it! My motivation was to “overcome the natural woman.” I have been so exhausted the past couple of weeks and have just had no energy whatsoever. I knew that I needed to eat better and more fully utilize our exercise time in the morning. And we did it! Every time I wanted to eat a cookie or something I’d say “Overcome the natural woman, Sister Davidson!” And then I did! And it felt great! I can certainly testify of the blessings of exercising for a minimum of half an hour every day and starting off your day right. It truly makes such a difference!

Another example of overcoming the natural woman this week comes from a dinner appointment… where we were fed egg salad sandwiches. I really do want to like eggs. They’re such a cheap source of protein. But I just can’t do it!! I can’t even smell them. But I overcame the natural woman and ate a whole egg salad sandwich with a smile! And I certainly hope to never have to do it again…

This week, we had a follow-up meeting for the trainees and their trainers at the mission home. It was a wonderful meeting and was certainly nice to be with so many missionaries again. However, this meeting combined with the two other meetings we had this week to go over the ward list with our ward leaders ate up about 10 hours of our proselyting time. But during the hours of work we did have, boy did we see miracles!

A mother and her son came to church this week, and we found some pretty solid new investigators! We pretty consistently find new people to teach, but a lot of them end up being pretty flaky. This week we were actually able to meet with them again!

So despite the lost time, we achieved the Standards of Excellence this week!! We definitely received some divine help.

During ward council this week, the bishop was saying how he’d like to go through the ward list and identify people who no one knows about and who hasn’t been visited. Before we could say anything, one of the ward council members listed off 20 reasons why that list would be so impossible to make. Then the ward mission leader was able to say that the missionaries had already compiled this list, just the week before. πŸ™‚ So God definitely blessed our areas for our diligence in completing this project! It’ll make our proselyting efforts sooo much more concentrated and connected with the ward. Long story short, I recommend that every ward go through their ward list with their missionaries! We all have information that we need to compile.

We had TimTam slams again for the last week of the transfer. I’m practically a pro at this now.

Tim Tam Slams.  I'm a pro now
Tim Tam Slams. I’m a pro now

We had two different people tell us this week–out of no where, we didn’t even initiate the conversation– that we looked like someone off of 19 kids and counting. Don’t they all have long brown hair?? I don’t even know what that means haha.

Speaking of hair, I noticed that there aren’t many blondes around here. Almost every day this week I’ve noticed that I’m the only blonde person on the bus.

Frank this week was so stoked to pay tithing. Oh man he’s the best!!

Soooo transfers! Sister Lundin and I are sticking around! I’m soooo happy! Six more weeks in Don Valley! πŸ˜€

Love you all! Share your missionary experiences with me!
Sister Davidson

ps the internet is down again today so I won’t have a chance to read most of your emails this week. 😦 But I promise I will next week! I really do love hearing from you!!

Our district.  We really do love each other, I swear
Our district. We really do love each other, I swear
Farsi looks like gymnastics scripting...kind of
Farsi looks like gymnastics scripting…kind of
We got a bread maker from a garage sale this week.   Best thing ever!!!
We got a bread maker from a garage sale this week. Best thing ever!!!
Leave a Reply

