Queen of Tetrus

Throughout the week, I always keep a list at the back of my planner of things I’d like to write about… This week’s list is really long!!! I’ll have to edit it down…

Here’s some pictures from our North York vs Ossington sports day last monday. We got cool shirts. Ours say “North York Zone” in English, Farsi, and Mandarin

chairsoccer2

NY vs Ossington
NY vs Ossington

 

 

Let’s start with D. D is a less-active lady that Sister Hoki and I worked with in Bowmanville. I wrote about her in my “Green Fire” blog post. She moved into the Don Valley ward boundaries the first day of the first transfer with Sister Lundin. Coincidence? Never. Anywho, we’ve been meeting with her and she’s been reading and praying every day and every time we go over she has some new insights to share with us!! She’s so amazing. I’m so glad that I got to work with her here, and make sure the ward paid attention to her. It would’ve been so easy for her to slip through the cracks….

Another less-active lady that we’ve been working with, C, got her temple recommend last week!!

The Recent Convert from El Salvador, Luis, came to all four sessions of conference. πŸ™‚ He’s doing great.

I got the best present ever on Wednesday!! One of our less actives gave us all his coffee and tea πŸ˜€ YES. In his words, “Hot chocolate goooood. Coffee baaaaaad.”

No more coffee
No more coffee

During ward council last week, the ward put together their rescue list. One woman on the list lives pretty close to us, so we were assigned to go see her. We were planning to go by on Wednesday, but on Tuesday night after ESL during our obedience walk, we contacted her near a bus stop! Street contacting into less-actives is my favourite thing πŸ˜› It’s happened three times now haha. We met with her Sunday morning before conference (because conference is broadcast at 12 here) and then she came to the morning session πŸ˜€

Another funny part of that story… so the sun goes down around 7:00 here, so when we were talking to her it was pretty dark. The elders drove by as we hugged her goodbye and Elder Call thought that we had hugged a man…. so we get a panicked call from Elder Gunnell thinking that we’re being so disobedient hugging males….. hahaha. But it was a good reminder because you never know who’s watching!

There’s a member of our ward who has a shoe fixing business. We went to drop off some boots for another sister and there’s a big picture of the temple there, and restoration pamphlets by the door, and the Mormon Channel playing. They’re the best!

Here’s a picture of one of the sets of stairs we climb in the subway at least once a day

 

Thigh Killers
Thigh Killers

Conference was the best. Jorg Klebingat from the Saturday afternoon session was my favourite for sure. It made me realize that I had been listening to the wrong voice! So many amazing things to apply from Conference this weekend. I could talk forever about it but I picked outΒ  a few major themes. Saturday’s was that we need to do our part. We need to act. From Sunday I got that we need to sustain our leaders always. That definitely applies to missionaries too with all of the different leaders we have in the field. How cool was it that people spoke in different languages?! We truly are a global church. Love it. In case you missed it, you can watch it here! .https://www.lds.org/general-conference/sessions/2014/10?cid=HPSU100514465&lang=eng

Okay so now for what you really want to know. Transfer news.
We get transfer calls anywhere between 9pm and 10:30pm. It was 10:30 according to our clock and no call. Then just as we’re discussing our goals for next transfer… we get a call from Elder Safaee. I guess the Assistant’s phone is three minutes behind ours:P

As predicted, I’m outta here. But I’m not going very far! I’m headed to Toronto North, which is the North side of downtown. So I’m still in the city, and I’m still on the buses! YESSSS. Also, I’m joint training another new missionary with Sister Anderson! If Sister Anderson is who I think she is, then she was in that area last transfer and she’s a few transfers younger than me. I’m so excited to meet my new companions tomorrow!! Sister Lundin is staying here, which I’m so happy about because then I can still get updates from her πŸ˜€ Her companion was in the MTC with her so they’ve both just finished training. She actually knew her new companion from back home too! I’m so excited for them. I’m in the same stake, but a different zone now. So I won’t see them at zone meetings, but I will see them at Stake Conference at the end of the month!!

The twitter day thing is October 11th so look for updates on the Canada Toronto Mission Facebook Page and #mormons on Twitter. I’ll be downtown with my new companions!!!

I can’t even tell you how happy I am that I’m still in the city. We’ll probably still have ESL too πŸ™‚

I started packing this morning and I truly am a master at tetris. I’ve accumulated quite a few hand-me-down skirts and study materials over the course of the past couple of months… and yet, I made them all fit! Wish I had taken a picture to show you…

Here’s our district….

6district
Me, Sister Lundin (utah), Elder Johnson (Taber), Elder Tui’lotolava (Tonga), Elder Gunnell (Idaho), and Elder Call-Shortorbani (Utah).

Onto a new adventure!!
Love,
Sister DavidsonIMG_3241 IMG_3240 IMG_3250 suirrelseverywhere

One thought on “Queen of Tetrus

  1. You are such an awesome missionary! I really enjoy reading your blogs and gospel insights. Thanks for being such an example to “the extended family”.

Leave a Reply

