Happy Thanksgiving Yous Guys!

My dear friends and family. I regret to inform you that I, Sister Davidson, am becoming Americanized.

Coming out to Eastern Canada, I’ve realized a lot of differences between the East and the West. Like bagged milk, the way we talk…. like all these easterners say “Yous guys” and it’s just awful haha. I thought that they whole “bayg” and “flayg” and “sore-ee” pronunciation thing was an eastern thing too until I met some new Albertan missionaries who talk like that too! All of my companions so far (excluding the MTC) have been from Utah, so I’ve also noticed a lot of things that we either pronounce differently (like mazda, pecan, drama, llama, etc) and other things that we call by different names (such as garbage disposal vs garborator, or dinner vs supper). Recently, I’ve really been noticing that I have started to conform to the American way of speaking :O Like I’ve been saying dinner instead of supper, and trash instead of garbage. And my, oh my are my companions ever rubbing off on me. I’m serving in my home country for Pete’s sake, and I’m going to come home sounding American!!

It certainly doesn’t help that not a single soul that we teach is actually Canadian πŸ˜›

Anywho, speaking of our home and native land, happy thanksgiving! Thanksgiving has never been a big deal for me since I don’t particularly care for turkey, and I’m the only Canadian in this companionship… I’ve only been in the ward one week, but from what I’ve observed I think like maayyybe 10% of the ward are native born Canadians haha. Which is awesome!! I love the diversity! And I’m also very thankful for that because that means that I did not get turkey on Thanksgiving πŸ˜€ haha. Our bishop’s family (they’re American) fed us on Sunday night, where we had ham and lots of other yummy stuff. Then on Monday, our Tongan Relief Society president fed us some yummy pork kebab thing, and then that night a Filipino family fed us rice. πŸ™‚ So a very happy thanksgiving for me! Toronto was DEAD on thanksgiving. It was so weird! Like noooo one was outside. Of the people I talked to on the buses, no one had any idea what thanksgiving was because they had all been in Toronto for less than six months haha.

This is a good thanksgiving video. So watch it πŸ™‚
https://www.lds.org/media-library/video/2009-11-39-in-the-spirit-of-thanksgiving?lang=eng

Ohh I hate emailing the first week after transfers. There’s always so much to tell you!!!

Our apartment is super dirty. I swear, I get transferred to new apartments because the Lord knows I will leave it better than I found it haha. It’s a decent size, even for three companions. The table is broken though, as is the dresser πŸ˜› Since we’re in a trio, the bedroom is a little cramped, but we played some tetris and it’s manageable!Β  We’re like a 10 minute bus ride away from the church, which is suuuper nice. The streetcar is right beside our building, so that’s convenient as well. Travel time is definitely not as time consuming as it was in Don Valley. Two other sets of missionaries (spanish and portuguese elders) also live in our building. We have the BEST view of the toronto sky line. Like the BEST. You can’t see it in the picture of our bedroom because my camera is silly. But you can see the city and the lake perfectly from our apartment.

The twitter day! Remember the El Salvadorian dude from my last area? I don’t remember if I ever named him in my blog posts before. Anyways, his name is Luis. He’s such a funny guy. He actually lived in the Toronto ward boundaries while we were teaching him in Don Valley, so we had planned on transferring him over to his proper ward, but then I got transferred down here so I just took his teaching record with me! Coincidence, right? Anywho, he followed us around all day and it was a riot. I don’t actually know his twitter name for you to look up the posts… there’s some stuff on the Canada Toronto Mission page, though. It was a fun day. Lots of member present lessons.

We had zone training on Friday, which was actually skills and interviews. So that means that all the missionaries in the zone get together and talk about our goals. The mission president also individually interviews each missionary. We did a musical number of “How Great Thou Art” where one of the Hermanas sang in Spanish! In our zone, there’s Spanish and Portuguese missionaries.

I guess I should probably tell you about my companions!

torontotrio paprazzi

Sister Anderson is from Woodscross, Utah. She’s 19, and played soccer in college. She’s been out on her mission for 6 months. Sister LaPoint, our baby, is 23. She’s a hairstylist and nail technician and she does super cool chalkboard art for weddings and stuff! She’s from Sandy, Utah. All three of us were in a tripanionship in the MTC haha. Coincidence, right? I was afraid of training in a tripanionship… I’ve been trying to let Sister Anderson take the lead since I’ve already trained someone before and I kinda feel like I’m robbing her of her first training experience! It’s worked out really well, though. We’ve taught a few lessons together, and we’ve already developed a natural unity to our teaching. Being in a trio and serving downtown, we have the potential to talk to SO MANY people!! I’m excited to see this area flourish. It’s potential is gigantic.

I had shwarma this week. It wasn’t anything special. Pretty sure I found a bug in my wrap though so not entirely sure if I’ll ever eat it again….

shwarma

Our third night here or so, this sister gave us A TON of food. It was so cute haha. Either she’s a really good cook, or she put KFC chicken in a pot and Chips a’hoy cookies on a tray and gave them to us πŸ˜› She also gave us full jugs of juice, yogurt, 3 containers full of meat and rice, vegetables…. she probably gave us more stuff that I can’t even list. Oh yeah, and a full cheesecake that said “happy thanksgiving” on it. We definitely are not going to starve in this area!!

IMG_3293

Before we got this abundance of food, we went out for pizza one day, where we found cans of coke that said “sister”! Later in the week, when we went for shwarma, we found one that said “mom”. In mission lingo, when you train a new sister, you become their “mission mom.”missionmom

Well I’m super happy to still be in Toronto! Downtown is a whole different world than North York! The north boundary of my new area is indeed the south boundary of my old area πŸ˜› The buses and subway are familiar settings but the streets and the people are all so different! Way more Spanish and Portuguese people down here, and way less Chinese and Persian people. The missionaries for those languages are definitely placed wisely. I can introduce myself as a missionary in Spanish, French, German, Chinese (well sort of. The tones are so hard!!), and Farsi, so now I’ve gotta learn some Portuguese!

I’m excited for this transfer! Now that we’re all settled in and sort of oriented, I’m excited to reactivate, and to find, teach, and baptize πŸ™‚

Love you all!
Sister Davidson

That awkward moment when you're done talking about the gospel and you still have to sit next to them on the bus
That awkward moment when you’re done talking about the gospel and you still have to sit next to them on the bus
Had  a "stocker"  for a day.  The church had members follow the missionaries and tweet what they did in their day.
Had a “stocker” for a day. The church had members follow the missionaries and tweet what they did in their day.
Twitter day plus creepy shadow
Twitter day plus creepy shadow
Leave a Reply

