Nap Time!

Hello, my friends!

Street Contact
Street Contact
Bus Contact
Bus Contact
Sushi Bar
Sushi Bar

First of all…. I will get all my mail for Christmas on December 8th. So if you’re planning on sending me a card or a package… make sure it’ll get to Toronto before December 8th, or I won’t get it until after New Years…. 😦 And All the mail I get on December 8th will sit under our Christmas tree in our apartment until Christmas morning. πŸ™‚ And I really do like Christmas cards, ya know… πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

So President Clayton has really been emphasizing that we are always a missionary. Preparation Days are not “days off” and like the White Handbook says, we should still try to find people to teach, even on preparation days. As you know, talking to people is not my lieblingsfreizeitaktivitat, and I haven’t been in the habit of contacting on Mondays. But before we left the house this morning, I prayed that God would help us find people to teach throughout the day. Although I knew full well that I didn’t really intend to act on it. Anywho, it’s like a two second walk to the street car from our apartment. So we were standing there, waiting for the streetcar and this woman tells us that it’s going to be 14 degrees tomorrow. Yay! But anyways, the point is that she talked to us first. So GUESS WHAT. Turns out that she’s the only German woman in all of Toronto, and she’s coming to church with us next Sunday!! YAYYY.

President Clayton has been very vague in his weekly emails lately, but he is promising some pretty big changes to the way we do our missionary work here in Toronto. We’re having two big zone conferences next transfer so he can instruct us on it. Stay tuned!!

So I had this revelation during Zone Council this week…. Whenever we have a big missionary meeting, it’s always directed specifically towards me, I swear.

As I mentioned in a previous email, it’s been hard for me to talk to people lately. It definitely wasn’t this hard in Don Valley. I thought that I had actually become pretty good at talking with people. It even became something I enjoyed doing! However, when I came to my new area, I subconsciously decided when I would and would not open my mouth. I thought that I could just decide when we needed to find new investigators and then I’d find them. And when I did talk to people, the contacts I made weren’t meaningful, and I couldn’t figure out why. This week, I realized that when I did that, I was depriving myself of the Spirit. I had faith in myself and in my own abilities, and not in God. So, God stopped helping me. I, Sister Davidson, am not naturally good at talking with people. It is not a talent that I, Sister Davidson, possess. But, it is a weakness that Heavenly Father has helped turn into a strength. We need to have faith in God and realize that we really can’t do His work without Him. The only reason we were having success in Don Valley was because we were being obedient and doing our best. We put our faith in God and knew that if we just opened our mouths, that God would fill them with the words we needed to say. So, put your faith in God and He will turn your weaknesses into strengths! Talking to people is a talent I need in order to fulfill my calling as a missionary. I firmly believe that when I go home, I will go right back to preferring to keep to myself. But for now, I’ll need to relearn how to love always talking with everyone πŸ™‚

J came to church!! It was the primary program this week. Cute πŸ™‚ Now he just needs to quit smoking, which we’re helping him with this week, and he can work towards his baptismal date of the 23rd!!

Well, I don’t have much to say today because I’m REALLY excited to take a nap. Love you all πŸ™‚
Sister Davidson

My messy desk
My messy desk

DSCN2073

Leave a Reply

