Subway Serenade and a Talent Show

Hello!

Zone
Zone
Zone sisters
Zone sisters
I got your package!
I got your package!
red in the morning sailors warning
red in the morning sailors warning

Lots of snow this morning. Yuck.

Everyone go watch this box Bible video: https://www.lds.org/bible-videos/videos/christs-authority-is-questioned?lang=eng

So sweet.

Alrighty. The mailman is still super awesome. Don’t have any stories about him for this week. We have lost contact with our friend who got antied but still came to the baptism. Sad 😦 ESL S, the dude from China is probably the most prepared person ever.

Our first lesson with him went like this…. we taught the restoration and he offered a beautiful closing prayer (he studied the pamphlet we gave him at ESL and had been practicing how to pray. He had never prayed like that before!) and then at the end of the lesson said, “We’re not supposed to drink coffee and tea right? A couple weeks ago I threw away all my coffee and tea because I was tired of being so dependent upon it. And now I feel so much better in the mornings!” We hadn’t even mentioned the Word of Wisdom yet. When we invited him to be baptized, he  said, “Of course! Why wouldn’t I want to feel God’s love?” After ESL on Saturday, we taught him again, this time about the Plan of Salvation, the Word of Wisdom, and the Law of Chastity. He’s already living all of the commandments! Then after the lesson, he stayed in the chapel to study until our ESL party later that night. He didn’t want to leave! The sad ending to this story is we discovered that he’s 18, not 17, so we’ll probably have to pass him off to the YSA elders 😦 He should be baptized on the 15th though. The guy is practically made out of gold.

So let’s talk about the ESL party! As I’ve mentioned before, I’m the Building Manager for our ESL (English as a second language) program in Toronto, which means I handle registration of new students and direct a discussion each week without ESL teachers on how we can improve our program. One of the ideas we had at the beginning of the transfer was to hold a party for our ESL students. We held parties the past two transfers and they had been quite successful with about 20 ESL students attending. This time, we decided to organize a talent show and pot luck. Preparing for this event on Saturday was our companionship’s main focus for the week.

Let me pause for a minute to share a story…

Since it’s been a little chilly lately, Sister LaPoint and I have been riding the Subway from end to end to contact people. It’s kinda tricky because you don’t want to look like  you’re hopping from person to person. On Thursday, there was a guy on the train playing his electric guitar (it wasn’t plugged in though) on the train. I thought this would be a wonderful opportunity to invite him to participate in the talent show so I struck up a conversation with him. He was very excited to perform at the show and he said he’d sing me a song. I thought he meant at the talent show… nope. He meant right then and there! So he started belting some love song in the middle of the train. #awkward. Then he got off the train and I felt like I couldn’t talk to anyone else because if they didn’t see us, the definitely heard him haha. Anywho, he did end up performing at the talent show, and now the YSA elders are working with him 😛

Back to the talent show. So we had NO idea how many people were going to show up, or perform so we decided to have a sign up sheet at the front desk and just go with the flow. Here’s the miracle my friends…. the flyer said the party started at 6 and people ACTUALLY showed up at six! That just doesn’t happen on Mormon Standard Time!!

The other miracle is that everything worked out perfectly and we had about 10 acts for the show. One elder did an amazing beat boxing act, and another elder was a gymnast back home so he did some sweet tumbling (made me miss cheer so much…..). I played Bumble Boogie on the piano, just for you, Grandpa. 🙂 Some ESL students and members performed as well! It was sweet. 

There were two conflicting events happening the same evening, one at the stake centre and the other in the same building as us for the Spanish ward. But even with all that, we had over 50 people show up! 2/3rds of which were not members of the church. A couple people came just because they saw a flyer on the street!

blurry hands

Potluck
Potluck
Pupusas
Pupusas
Portuguese food
Portuguese food
Subway guy
Subway guy

Remember the guy we smiled at in Tim Horton’s and taught the restoration to? Well we hadn’t been in contact with him since, but he came to the show!!! About 10 of our investigators came, and Lily came too! We called a bunch of old potential investigators to invite them, and one guy that we had never met drove all the way from Brampton to come to the show. That’s about a 30 minute drive with no traffic.

After the talent portion, we had a speed dating type of activity so that people could practice English and make new friends. It was also a sneaky way for the missionaries to explain what we do. 🙂 Lily was telling everyone about how she just got baptized and was getting confirmed the next day. Oh man I just love her so much =’)

Speed dating
Speed dating

So yes. The ESL party was a huge success! It even ended on time! We were able to introduce so many people to the gospel in a fun and friendly environment.

I’m getting better at organizing events without all the unnecessary stress… I’ve come to realize and accept that there will ALWAYS be someone to complain with a very loud voice about something insignificant and I have learned to let it roll off my back.  Miraculously, we only had one complaint about the show 😛 I’m bracing myself for angry phone calls….

Lily was confirmed this week! She’s going to be such a kingdom builder. Then she bore her testimony! Which was beautiful!  Luis also blessed the sacrament for the first time this week 🙂 J, our friend who quit smoking, went to the Spanish/Portuguese ward this week, so we went with him. I can officially understand 10 words in Spanish haha. Go me!

Lily's confirmation
Lily’s confirmation

Good things are happening! Transfer calls are next Sunday and I am 95% positive I’m moving. 😦 I absolutely love Toronto and I never want to leave! But I know that God will put me where he needs me most.

We found this sign on Bathurst street (heavily populated Jewish area). Very tempted to show up at this seminar…. You can’t really see it, but at the bottom it says “Keeping Jews Jewish” 😛

Keeping Jews Jewish
Keeping Jews Jewish

I love you all! Have a great week!

Sister Davidson

One thought on “Subway Serenade and a Talent Show

  1. Brooklyn “Sister Davidson” I love reading your blogs, you are being such an awesome missionary. Sure proud of you. Keep being your amazing self, so many are being blessed by your efforts. Keeping you in our prayers. Rose

Leave a Reply

