Be a Good Follower

Why hello there πŸ™‚

This week I received a beautiful package from my home ward! Thank you all so much for your letters! It was so fun to read them all and learn a bit about your families. Many of the pictures are hanging on my wall above my study desk now πŸ™‚ Strathmore ward is the best 35C.gif

I also received some beautiful scarves!! Thank-you, Sister Q!!
sweet scarves!

Let’s talk a little bit about Brampton! Brampton is in the north-west-ish part of the GTA (Greater Toronto Area). Our ward boundaries cover the eastern half of Brampton, as well as Woodbridge, Vaughan, and Bolton. And some other small places further north. I don’t remember. There are a lot of people here from India. I’ve been learning a lot about the Sikh and Hindu religions! Brampton is a smaller city than Mississauga. I don’t know exactly how the ward boundaries work, but there are three congregations that meet in our building. One of them is a Spanish ward.

Missisauga view
Missisauga view
Brampton
Brampton

Earlier this week, we were just driving out of the church parking lot, and we saw a woman try and get into the church. We asked her if she needed some help, and it turns out that she was looking for our service times! And THEN she actually came to church on Sunday!! Our church buildings all say “Visitors Welcome” and yet there’s no information available about our service times unless if you know where to look on Mormon.org. The family history centre times are posted outside the building, but no building I’ve ever served in has a sign about our Sunday service schedule…. now that’s pretty silly if you ask me.

The weather has been so nice lately! No coats AND no tights!!! Makes contacting so much more fun πŸ™‚

Here’s a cool story! Last preparation day, we got a text from someone saying they were outside of the chapel, but were nervous to go inside so they asked if we were there. We were pretty far away, so we booked a time to give them a chapel tour the next day. I was on exchanges with Sister Rasmussen and I honestly wasn’t expecting them to show up, but then they did! J&V are so cool! A couple months ago, they met some missionaries on the street (I think one of them was Sister Hoki, given their description). They’ve always wondered what was inside the temple and then they finally found the right people to ask! …except they didn’t. Life got busy and stuff and they forgot, but then the spirit brought us to their remembrance and they sent us a text πŸ™‚ They have a son, and another child on the way! Forever families!!!

Sister Rasmussen is a stud missionary. It was so fun to work with her! Aaannnd we have the same first name. So naturally, she’s pretty cool.
Rasmussen

We met with a Hungarian woman who just moved to Brampton from England. Her name is M. She was baptized in Hungary a year and a half ago, and hasn’t been able to go the the temple yet because it was too far away. Well now she could walk to the temple! So we’re helping her learn English (YAYYYYY!!!) and also helping her do some family history so she can take those names to the temple (DOUBLE YAYYYYY). She also taught me how to introduce myself as a missionary in Hungarian. πŸ™‚ When we told her that Sister Rasmussen and I have the same first name, she was just blown away. “God is in everything!” haha she’s so cute.

Sister Q offered to host M in her home until she could find a place of her own, and it turns out that Sister Q’s granddaughter taught M English while serving as a missionary in Hungary. They didn’t make that connection until after M had already moved in. How fun πŸ™‚ Especially since M didn’t know a soul in Canada when she first arrived.

I also went on exchanges with Sister Tang & Sister Price this week. It was fun being in a trio again πŸ™‚

M&B seem to have fallen off the face of the earth again…. we’ll keep praying for them.

Every apartment in the GTA has the same flooring.
GTA floor

We had a fun “Clothing Swap” Relief Society activity this week where all the sisters brought old clothes that they didn’t want any more. I found some cute grandma skirts! Perfect missionary attire haha. I’m all set for summer.
clothing swap
I’ve learned a lot about learning to be a good follower so far this transfer. In order to be a good leader, you have to learn how to be a good follower. That’s tough for me! I’m used to just taking the lead and doing things my way. But this transfer has been very humbling and I can feel God molding me, as I always can.

You can see Mississauga aannnd the CN tower from Brampton.

CN tower view
CN tower view

They asked me to conduct Singing Time in Primary last minute this week. I had no idea what I was doing, but I think it actually went pretty well! And it was so fun! We talked about how awesome it is to me a member of Jesus’s church, and learned how to sing “The Church of Jesus Christ”.

How cool is it that we know who we are? Think about that for a second. Who are you? You are a beloved daughter/son of God, born to be a queen/king. Your purpose and potential is greater than you can even comprehend! We are literally God’s children! Once we truly understand what that means, it puts life into perspective! He knows us. He knows what’s best for us, and He’s given us so many tools to improve ourselves. We know God’s plan! We know what’s in store for us after this life. This isn’t the end! Some times I think we forget what a blessing it is to have that knowledge.

The primary children were able to tell me some ways that they honour Jesus Christ’s name. Their spirits are so pure πŸ™‚

Primary hymns are wonderful. They teach gospel principles so simply and so beautifully.

We sang to a couple people in the hospital this week. Conveniently, the hospital is right across from the church, and most of the patients have a view of the temple from their hospital room. We had the wonderful opportunity to bring the spirit into their hospital rooms and explain a little bit about why that beautiful white building across the street is so important.

Hospital view
Hospital view

Let me just close by saying that there is no way that I can have a job where I sit all day. Oh man this car area business is rough. But I’m so glad that the weather is warming up so we can walk more!

Love you all! The church is true! Pray always!
Sister Davidson

Leave a Reply

