Two Thumbs Down for the Electric Lawn Mower

Hey, soooo no one has emailed me any fun Family Home Evening ideas. I KNOW that you people have some fun ideas that you’re keeping from me. Let me in on your secrets and success stories!!!

Preparation Day was moved to today because of Victoria Day… I went on exchanges this week with Sister Anthony, who is from London. She told me that Victoria Day isn’t even a thing in England! What the heck! This is her first transfer in the field, and she’s loving Canada. I took her to her first Tim Horton’s trip 🙂
Tim Hortons

We got preached at a lot this week… haha. We learned a lot about the Jehovah’s Witnesses, as well as the Sikhs! I’m really grateful to serve in the GTA. There’s so much religious diversity, and it’s helped open my eyes to see what’s out there in the world. People have such varying opinions about God and religion… it’s really strengthened my testimony of the apostasy. Priesthood authority was 110% lost, no doubt about it. Satan is the author of all confusion and he is certainly doing a good job at stirring up confusion. I really enjoy hearing about others’ views, though. Our standpoints are so close on so many points of doctrine. We’re really not all that much different! But that’s why I’m grateful for the Book of Mormon. With the Bible, the Book of Mormon, living prophets, and personal revelation, there really is no room for confusion. The Book of Mormon clearly and simply states the doctrine of Christ. When used in conjunction with the Bible, religious questions have such clearer answers! As I’ve studied the Book of Mormon lately, I’ve been able to better appreciate exactly what the Book of Mormon clarifies because I’m more familiar with what is unfamiliar doctrine for members of other faiths. Things that were obvious to me because I was raised in this faith, are not so obvious to others. The Book of Mormon and the Bible both testify of Jesus Christ, so it was always obvious in my mind that they must teach the same things. But as I’ve studied the both of them more attentively, I’ve been able to better appreciate the fact that these two books really are companion volumes of scripture. As the Book of Mormon teaches, the Bible and the Book of Mormon are supposed to “grow together, unto the confounding of false doctrines and the laying down of contentions, and establishing peace” as well as to teach us about prophets of old, and to teach us about God’s covenants with us (2 Nephi 31:12). One guy on the street got pretty upset that we believe that there’s more scripture than just the Bible. But it felt really good to be able to look him in the eye and say that God has more in store for us. “We believe all that God has revealed, all that He does now reveal, and we believe that He will yet reveal many great and important things pertaining to the kingdom of God.” (Articles of Faith 1:9) What a beautiful restored truth that is.

We phoned one of our investigators this week to confirm our appointments and there was a couple screaming and cursing at each other in the background. It breaks my heart knowing that people actually talk to each other like that. 😦 It doesn’t have to be that way….

We saw a lot of miracles this week. Holy cow.
1) The Elder’s Quorum president has been talking to his friend (R) from work about the church. R came to church on Mother’s Day to hear him speak, and then we had dinner with him and the Elder’s Quorum president on Wednesday where we taught R the restoration! R said that the message of the Restoration helped him feel “refreshed.” His thirst for knowledge was quenched. He said the closing prayer, and when we talked to the EQP about the lesson afterwards, he said that he was 110% confident that his friend would refuse to say the closing prayer. He also didn’t think he’d come to church. Well look at that 🙂 All you gotta do is invite! They can’t make a choice without the invitation. R came to church this past Sunday as well, and this time he brought his Mom. 🙂
2) I think I wrote about R&M a while ago. R (this one’s a female) is a returning member, and her husband came to church for the first time two weeks ago. Well she came to church again this week (without her husband 😦 ) and came teaching with us as well!! We had a breakthrough lesson with her and her husband and his belief in God is increasing! We brought our mission president’s wife to come teach R with us this week as well about eternal families. A very powerful lesson 🙂 I’m really excited about them.
3) We met with the primary president this week and she gave us the names of some families she’d like us to find and bring back! I love this kind of detective work :3
4) We’ve been trying to stay under our allotted kilometer limit for this month, so we’ve been walking a LOT. On Thursday, we even did a car fast. I think a large part of our success this week can be attributed to that sacrifice! Also, I’ve lost 5 pounds since the last time I weighed myself… bonus!
5) Oh man we’re teaching a lot of people named R… actually we call him Brother, so we’ll refer to him as Brother R. Well we taught him the gospel of Jesus Christ applying what we learned in our district meeting, and he is excited for baptism on June 7th!
6) The Plan of Salvation answered a lot of C’s questions, and he’s excited for baptism on June 14th! He’s also excited to help his ancestors receive the ordinances of salvation in the temple after his baptism!

Man. It’s been a good week.

The bisopric asked me last Sunday to speak in sacrament meeting about “Getting to Know the Saviour through service” and perhaps I’ll have to share with you more of my insights next week, because I’m running low on email time, but I based a lot of my talk on this mormon message: http://www.mormonchannel.org/watch/series/mormon-messages/lift-the-power-of-service?cid=HP_WE_5-13-2015_dPTH_fMM_xLIDyL1-A_ I was really proud of myself for learning from my past mistakes by writing my talk on Thursday instead of Saturday night… but then by the time Sunday morning rolled around, I couldn’t find my stupid talk!!! Clearly God and I were not on the same page about what I should focus on in my talk. So, Sunday morning, at 7:45 (church starts at 9) I threw together an outline and it actually went pretty well! But my goodness. Computers are such a blessing. This pen and paper business is risky!

Conveniently, this has been a week full of service! There was a member in the Heartlake ward whose friend was in the hospital for 17 months, and while she was there this poor lady’s sons broke into the house and absolutely trashed it and used it as a drug house. There were holes in the walls, graffiti all over the place, rotten food, cigarette butts galore, broken furniture, and the unfinished basement was being used as a junk yard. They had to get the place gutted as soon as possible, so our whole zone went over to help out. The place was so beat up we had to wear masks! But we got the job done 🙂 Drugs are the fastest way to destroy someone’s life. Just heartbreaking to see the effects of drug use. Amongst the clutter, there was a sign on the wall listing the “House Rules.” I think it’s safe to say they didn’t abide by those 😛
house rules

junk house

Absolutely no one was in town on holiday monday (check out the temperature!!)
temperatureso we spent most of the day providing service for ward members and investigators. By the end of the day, oh MAN we were so sweaty and gross. We were trying to decide where to eat dinner, but the only thing close to us were bars. I made a joke that we wouldn’t have to worry about getting hit on because we smelled so lovely. Anyways, we got out of the car and someone calls after us “Hey! Are you mormon missionaries?” He sounded pretty excited to see us, so we went to talk to him. We had a good conversation about the restoration, and then he goes “Yeah, I’m recently divorced. I’m just looking for a good christian woman.” So we told him about the Single Adult ward and their scripture study activities, and then he goes “Yeah, maybe we can meet up some time.” Anyways so we shook his hand to leave and HE GOES IN FOR A KISS. Oh man! all those hours spent on preparation day playing dodgeball has paid off!! I guess the light of Christ still shines bright even when you’re at your sweatiest… Needless to say, we decided to let the elders go visit Doctor Willy. Yikes!

We helped one sister in our ward mow her lawn… with an electric lawn mower. Two thumbs down for the electric lawn mower!!! Absolutely a two person job with all the dancing we had to do with that extension cord.
electric lawn mower 2

reclaimed

We also helped one recent convert plant some flowers in his garden on Monday. He had this one planter out front that was previously used as an ash tray. Now it is home to some beautiful petunias! What a wonderful representation of the many changes that have taken place in his life lately. What was once an ashtray has now been reclaimed to hold something beautiful.

Well, friends. I love you all! Send me some Family Home Evening ideas for any age group pleeasseee. 🙂
Sister Davidson

One thought on “Two Thumbs Down for the Electric Lawn Mower

  1. Sister Davidson,Check out the May New Era.  There is a list of 30 questions to ask your mom? Use the “My Family Stories that bring us together” to record memories of family members and find pictures of them.  Make duplicates of family pictures and create a find the matching pictures game (like Memory). Hope these help. Grandma.

    From: Sister Brooklyn Davidson To: dellaneila@yahoo.ca Sent: Tuesday, May 19, 2015 10:52 PM Subject: [New post] Two Thumbs Down for the Electric Lawn Mower #yiv0931291027 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0931291027 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0931291027 a.yiv0931291027primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0931291027 a.yiv0931291027primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0931291027 a.yiv0931291027primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0931291027 a.yiv0931291027primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0931291027 WordPress.com | dcdav posted: “Hey, soooo no one has emailed me any fun Family Home Evening ideas. I KNOW that you people have some fun ideas that you’re keeping from me. Let me in on your secrets and success stories!!!Preparation Day was moved to today because of Victoria Day… I” | |

Leave a Reply

