Becoming

Hola!

Someone that I taught in Mississauga was baptized yesterday!!!!

The church is true, my friends.

I turned the calendar this morning to June, which was very upsetting because that means the next month is July. Which means I only have eight weeks left. But then my wonderful companion pointed out to me that I still have a whole other month until I have to turn the calendar page again. πŸ˜›

I feel like I finally know what I’m doing… I feel pretty confident that I finally know how to be a successful missionary. And I’m bummed that I only have eight weeks left to apply everything I’ve learned! But then I had a cool personal study. “Perfect” as used in the scripture “be ye therefore perfect” should really say “complete.” We’re here on earth to learn how to be like our Saviour, and in doing so, perfect ourselves, or to complete the perfection process. We weren’t sent here to be perfect our whole lives and never make a mistake… that would defeat the whole purpose. That’s why Adam and Eve had to fall from God’s presence, or else they’d just live in a state of perfectness and never grow because they could never make a mistake. Our purpose in life is to improve and grow closer to our Saviour. Callings in the church are perfect opportunities to do just that. Someone once said “God doesn’t call the qualified, he qualifies the called.” True statement! Side note: We need to keep in mind the fact that He doesn’t call qualified people and be patient with those that serve in our ward and stake units. Anyways, holy cow I didn’t have a clue what I was doing when I first walked out of the MTC! I thought I did, but I really didn’t. I still don’t. We certainly don’t walk out of the MTC as perfectly trained missionaries. I’m pretty sure it was my mom who said that she figured out how to be a relief society president once she was released. In missionary work, we always seem to get transferred right when we feel comfortable in our areas. Wouldn’t you think that God would want His missionaries to stay in their areas once they’ve figured it out so that they could be the most effective at their work there? Of course not, because then that missionary isn’t learning as much as he could have. Something I’ve really noticed in missionary work is that God really doesn’t need us missionaries to do much. In fact, missionaries don’t really do anything! Every single person that I’ve helped come closer to Christ, I didn’t do too much. All I feel like I did was show up on their door and teach doctrine. And I probably feel that way because it’s true! The Spirit is the one that does the converting. God’s work will roll forward as long as we’re willing to be obedient. That’s all God asks. He can make up for the rest. By no means am I saying that I am now a “perfect” missionary. Of course not! I’m still learning every single day. But what I am saying, is that the callings that God gives us and the capacities in which he asks us to serve are opportunities for us to grow, and I feel like I’ve grown a whole lot. Our offering will always be imperfect. Day by day, we are becoming better versions of ourselves, we are becoming more like our Saviour, and we are becoming better disciples of Jesus Christ. Now that I’ve almost done the growing that I need to do here, this mission is coming to an end. And in my next phase of life, I’ll continue to grow, because I’ve learned what I needed to here in the Canada Toronto Mission.

But, I still have eight weeks left to learn everything that I need to! I just pray that it doesn’t go by too fast.

We had a wonderful day at the temple on Wednesday! R (as in R&M) came to the temple to do baptisms for the first time in a very long time. Hungarian M was baptized two years ago in Hungary and entered the temple for the first time here in Brampton. She was baptized for 7 of her own family names. Her husband was baptized as well πŸ™‚ Oh, she was so so grateful. With her limited English, all she could say was “fantastic nice.” Many other recent converts that we’ve been working with attended as well.
temple

Continuing on with my homemaking themed service projects, we helped make the juice and set up for a scouts activity this week. Who knew that making juice could be so hazardous…. the juice powder would get in our eyes and in our lungs and it just wasn’t a pleasant experience. Clearly my juice making skills need some fine tuning.
dangerous juice

Oh man one day we had planned to teach C at the church at 1pm. But by 1:15 he still wasn’t there and wasn’t answering his phone… so we left. We came back at 2, and there he was standing outside! But, I had a silly physio appointment at 2:30 that we needed to go to…. So we dropped C off at the family history centre and told him to have fun! We came back to the church at 4, and the family history consultants had helped him enter in 7 generations of family names!! And C was grinning ear to ear! We walked around the temple grounds with him and reviewed why we do family history work, and he is just so pumped for his own baptism on June 14th so that he can be baptized for his waiting ancestors.

I went on exchanges this week with Sister Reeves in Etobicoke YSA, which covers Etobicoke, part of North York, Mississauga, and Brampton. It was so fun to be in YSA work for a day! Contacting on the Humber College campus was so fun. It’s such a diverse place, and we got a wide variety of reactions from people haha.

I also went on exchanges with Hermana Smith! She came to our area here in Brampton. It’s her first transfer out in the field, and wow she’s doing to great! I feel like every new missionary I meet adjusts to missionary life faster than did. πŸ˜› We had a fun day doing family history and planting flowers in the pouring rain. Really wish I had a picture of that one…
reeves
Church was so fun this week. Sister Arnold and I sang in sacrament meeting (which earned us a lot of dinner appointments for the week haha bonus), and then we helped out in primary for singing time. Also, lots of people came to church! The first thing the C said when he saw us was “So when can I do more family history?” haha he loves it!

In memory of Elder L. Tom Perry,

Leave a Reply

