Birthday Blessings

Hello! So last night I got my last transfer call ever….
Transfer calls were yesterday, the day before my birthday. So I could have either spent my birthday crying and packing, or smiling and chillin.
And today I’m all smiles! Sister Arnold and I will be staying together in Brampton for my last transfer! I’m so stoked!
Today marks my 17th month birthday as a full time missionary, as well as my 21st year of life! Happy double birthday to me. Thank you for all of your kind birthday wishes! We’re going to spend the day doing some shopping and then hanging out with our zone. In the evening, we’re hosting a family home evening for the recent converts in the stake (so basically we’re having a massive birthday party, right?). I wouldn’t have it any other way! I’ve been blessed to have wonderful days for a birthday out here in the field.

This week was rain rain rain. And oh boy, when it rains, it pours! Hard! However, God has a way of saving us from the storms. The rain always seemed to start right as we were entering an appointment, and ended just before we got out. It happened multiple times this week! Sister Arnold and I seem to have much better luck with the weather than Sister Lundin and I did last year. 😛 He’s looking out for us!

We had our last district meeting of the transfer this week. As of Wednesday, Sister Mandla and I will be the oldest Sister missionaries in the Canada Toronto Mission. WEIRD.

We were teaching an investigator this week, and he asked us what our least favourite thing about the church was. I thought it was kind of a funny question, because I like everything! haha. But then I thought of an answer….

My least favourite thing about being a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is the super warped perception people have of our faith!! “Oh you’re Mormon? Yikes. Better stay away!” I don’t even understand how that happens! One recent convert we met with expressed that after she had joined the church, her friends said, “Oh… what does your family think?” and she said, “Well they’re happy for me! If I’ve joined a cult, it’s the best cult I’ve ever joined!” Haha it’s so ridiculous! We’re just a bunch of Christians trying to do what’s right. We don’t bite, have six toes, or cause chaos. People can be so ridiculous and outright rude.

Anyways, on that note, after district meeting this week, we got an unfortuante phone call from our family history friend, C. He doesn’t want to meet with us anymore. Doesn’t want to come to church, or be baptized either. When we asked why, he said, “that’s just the way it is.” And wouldn’t even agree to meet with us to talk about it. =/ I don’t understand… he was so excited! He loved the gospel and soaked up everything we taught him. The only thing that we would think of was that he probably got antied. Wouldn’t be the first time- it’s a pretty big problem these days. It just recalls to my mind a talk by Elder Marcos A. Aidukaitis: “With so much available on the internet, we must carefully consider where to apply our efforts. Satan can keep us busy, distracted, and infected by sifting through information, much of which can be pure garbage. One should not roam through garbage.” For help on discerning between pure garbage and the truth, I’d recommend reading the rest of his address. But basically, if you feel the spirit, then it’s the truth. If you don’t feel the spirit, then it’s not. It’s no wonder Satan, the father of all lies, tries his hardest to put down the church. What we preach is the truth, after all. So my advice for you all today is to stop roaming through garbage. And don’t take too seriously the words of anyone who does roam through garbage. I find it so interesting how so many people have such strong opinions about our church and the Book of Mormon, yet they’ve never attended a service, nor even opened the book.

We’re planning on reaching out to C later this week. He’ll come around.

Remember the Jewish lady I taught in Don Valley? Her baptismal date was exactly a year ago today, actually… Anyways, her husband wouldn’t let her get baptized then and it was pretty depressing! But I just received word that she’s regularly meeting with the missionaries again!!

Also, someone that I taught in Bowmanville was baptized yesterday!

The hardest thing about missionary work is when someone that you grow to love so much decides to pull away from the gospel and stop progressing. But, it’s things like this that give me hope! It may not be their time right now, but we’re here to plant seeds which will be harvested in the future.

Another thing! Video games! I am just floored at how many people waste away their days playing video games for hours on end! Just don’t do it!

The one day this week that it didn’t rain was the ward picnic. God watches out for us! Before the picnic, we had a zone blitz, which is were every missionary in our zone goes to a certain proselyting area and finds new people to teach for those particular missionaries. We brought a young woman with us and it was so much fun! She had never been out with the missionaries before, and it was a little nerve-racking at first, but eventually she got right into it! Missionary work is fun, my friends 🙂

Blitz
Blitz

We helped out with some gardening again! The rain rolled in like 15 minutes after we left 🙂 I don’t understand how elderly people can love gardening so much. I’m 21 years old and it hurts MY back after a while!
gardening

gardening 2

I learned from my previous mistakes and started wearing sunscreen daily on my face and neck… except I forgot about the back of my neck =/
sunburn

We have this nice little lake beside our house that we’ve started walking around for morning exercise. You can see the temple steeple from the path!
steeple

As a side note, I find it quite amusing how many people here in Brampton drive past the temple everyday, and still think that it’s an Indian temple. I understand that we’re in Brampton and there’s beautiful Sikh temples and Mosques all over the place, but there’s a giant sign right on the main road that says “Church of JESUS CHRIST of Latter-Day Saints.” So many people are surprised to learn that we’re Christians 😛

Brother S, who we’ve been working with all transfer FINALLY CAME TO CHURCH!!! HOORAHH!!!!! He loved it, too. 🙂

R&M have moved back to Utah =( But R’s mother is overjoyed that she’s returning home with a current temple recommend!!!

We dropped by one family that was an assignment from the ward council several times this week at different times of day, and they were NEVER HOME. So we left an invitation to some upcoming events at church, and then after church was over as we were sitting in ward council, we heard that they showed up for church! And stayed for the whole three hours! AND WE DIDN’T EVEN MEET THEM. Ugh!! But hey, good to know that perseverance works!!
heart attack

The elderly lady in our ward that we visit, Sister S, called us this week on June the 7th and said, “I have a note here on my calendar that says you’re coming to see me on June the 4th. But June 4th is exed out! So I’m afraid that just won’t work and we’ll have to reschedule.” …. “We did come to see you on June 4th, Sister S! We’ll be back next week.” The poor sister was so confused 😛 I thoroughly enjoy our visits with her. She’s hilarious. 🙂

We exchanged with Mississauga this week! I thought I’d never have the chance to go back, but since we exchange with other Sister Training Leaders now, I got to go visit for the day! I went with Sister Anderson, the sister who was in a trio with me and Sister LaPoint for a few weeks. sister anderson exchangeIt was so wonderful serving with her again! I still love Mississauga. Of all the places I’ve served, I could see myself living in Mississauga the most. Not worry, though. Alberta is the place for me 😉 Anyways, they’re mostly teaching new people at this point, but we got to teach ESL! And the one Polish girl that we taught while I was there is still taking the discussions! The first couple times I met with her, she refused to pray. This time she said the closing prayer! She’s read the whole Book of Mormon cover to cover once already, and now she’s on her second time though and she’s already in 3rd Nephi!! After our lesson, she decided that she needs to be baptized. I tried to take a picture with her, but she wasn’t a big fan of that idea 😛
esl friends

It’s so fun to go on exchanges with other Sister Training Leaders. I learned so much! We get to bounce ideas off of each other for exchanges, learn new things, and get reenergized. It’s nice 🙂

I’m grateful to be in Brampton for another transfer. Good things are coming!

Our two Indian friends that waltzed into Spanish ward sacrament meeting came to English ward this week 🙂 I need to learn how to speak Hindi!

We had our ward conference this week, so the stake leaders sat in on ward council. Our ward council is one of the strongest in the stake, and great things are happening in our ward! The Stake has a goal to create two new units in the upcoming year, and it’s going to happen! We’re already seeing so many families coming back into full activity, and we’re excited to keep helping in any way that we can! Our ward council members are all on the same page, and we’re finally understanding what it means to partner with them to help the ward move in the right direction to truly hasten the work of salvation! It’s an exciting time to be a missionary.
district selfie

district 12

Love you all!
Sister Davidson
no-garbage-meme-1253282-gallery

One thought on “Birthday Blessings

  1. Brooklyn, I hope you got your birthday visa card. Grandma.

    From: Sister Brooklyn Davidson To: dellaneila@yahoo.ca Sent: Monday, June 15, 2015 9:18 PM Subject: [New post] Birthday Blessings #yiv9540136413 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9540136413 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9540136413 a.yiv9540136413primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9540136413 a.yiv9540136413primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9540136413 a.yiv9540136413primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9540136413 a.yiv9540136413primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9540136413 WordPress.com | dcdav posted: “Hello! So last night I got my last transfer call ever….Transfer calls were yesterday, the day before my birthday. So I could have either spent my birthday crying and packing, or smiling and chillin.And today I’m all smiles! Sister Arnold and I will ” | |

Leave a Reply

